1. 2020 WTTC BUSAN Overview

Category Contents
Period 28 Feb 2021 - 7 Mar 2021 <8 days>
Place BEXCO, Busan
Number of participation

72 men’s teams and 72 women’s teams

(around 3,000 athletes and team officials from about 130 countries to participate)

Events Men’s team table tennis & Women’s team table tennis
Hosted by International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF)
Organized by Korea Table Tennis Association (KTTA) & Busan city
Sponsored by

Hana Bank, Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism of Korea,

Korea Sports Promotion Foundation

Opening Ceremony

28 Feb 2021

(includes performances, spectator events, congratulatory remarks, etc.)

ITTF Annual General Meeting

To be announced

2. World Table Tennis Championships (WTTC) Overview

  • First World Table Tennis Championships (WTTC) to be hosted in Korea since the first edition in 1926 (Japan has hosted seven WTTCs while China hosted five editions)

  • Korea submitted the host city application to the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) in November 2017 and was awarded with the hosting rights at the ITTF Annual General Meeting held at the 2018 Halmstad Liebherr WTTC competing with San Jose of the United States and Yekaterinburg of the Russian Federation.

  • ITTF has 226 member National Associations, which is a higher number than the IOC’s 206 member NOCs

  • Both team and individual events were held together in one edition until the 2001 Osaka WTTC.

  • Since the 2003 Paris WTTC, individual events have been hosted in odd years while team events have been hosted in even years.

  • Busan 2020 WTTC will involve team events only, as it’s to be hosted in the even numbered year.

3. Competition Rules and Schedule

  • A total of 144 teams will compete while divided into men’s and women’s 1st, 2nd and 3rd Divisions (24 teams per Division).

  • The 1st Division, where the Korean team is included, will be divided into four groups of six teams and compete in a complete round robin format. The winners of each group will advance directly to the quarter final round. Teams placed 2nd and 3rd in each group will play the Round of 16.

  • Three players consist a team and five individual matches will take place (in the format of ABCAB – XYZYX)

  • Lowest ranked two teams of the 1st and 2nd Divisions relegated to a lower Division of the next edition of WTTC while top two teams of the 2nd and 3rd Divisions promoted to the higher Division.

Event/Date 28 Feb-2 Mar 3 Mar 4 Mar 5 Mar 6 Mar 7 Mar
Men’s team event Preliminary Preliminary Main Draw Main Draw Semifinal Final
Women’s team event Preliminary Main Draw Main Draw Semifinal Final